Annual Dinner & Prize Presentation 2010

Prizewinners at the Dinner Feb. 2010

Photo by LincsRacePhotos

Prizewinners at the Dinner Feb. 2010

The Annual Dinner and Prize Presentation Evening for the Lincolnshire Road Riding Association, held at the Solo Club in Sleaford, attracted over eighty cycling enthusiasts to applaud the trophy and award winners from the events held during 2009. 

The Association, which was founded in 1912, runs cycling time trials over various distances, providing Championship events for Lincolnshire riders to compete against each other, and a league to compete as the top scoring club.

The major prize winners are those riders winning the various Best All Rounder sections.  The Juvenile award was won by Jake Clare of Yello Velo, Ian Dalton of Cherry Valley RT took the Short Distance BAR and John Potter of the Alford Wheelers won the Short Distance Veterans section.  David Grayson of Boston Wheelers took the Long Distance Veterans award, and Clare Ella of Lincoln Wheelers won the Ladies Short Distance BAR and the overall Long Distance BAR was won by Paul Hutchinson of Boston Wheelers.

Riders from Gainsborough Aegir, Scunthorpe Poly CC, Skegness and the  Witham Wheelers clubs were represented as well in the awards list, together with the Lincoln Wheelers who won the Nev Crane Memorial Shield for being the highest point scorers in the Club League. 

Malc Yates of Sleaford Wheelers who organised the Dinner side of the evening was also the Master of Ceremonies, and Jack Mitchell of Boston who is the President, presented the prizes.

Theresa Brewer of Lincoln Wheelers sorted the trophies and awards with the help of County Cups of Lincoln, but also had a surprise presentation to make on the evening as well.  Dot Marris of Scartho was presented with a Certificate of Honour from Cycling Time Trials, the governing body of the Association.  Her son Lynn Marris who moved away from Lincolnshire last year, was also awarded with a similar Certificate.  This was to recognise the valued service they both had given to the Lincolnshire District of the CTT.